Thailand

Pink, sweaty and eating coconut ice cream: me for the next three months.

I don’t remember a huge amount about Bangkok from my brief visit here seven (seven! This is terrifying to contemplate, my gap year feels like it was over yesterday) years ago – just the air so thick that you almost had to swim through it, and the smell of fried noodles, exhaust fumes and rain.

None of that has changed: the mugginess is still unbearable and the shortest walk leaves you dripping with sweat, the pollution is if anything worse, and the street food remains astonishingly good (I am unsure how I missed spicy papaya and peanut salad last time round, but am I ever making up for it this time). I am still busy working out how a person actually exists in this kind of climate, and will update as and when I find out.

Leave a Reply

